Book Reviews, Giveaways & Contests, NetGalley Reviews, Reviews by Diayll

Review, Excerpt & #Giveaway: Dark Embrace by Angie Sandro

Review, Excerpt & #Giveaway: Dark Embrace by Angie Sandro

Welcome to Mother/Gamer/Writer for the Dark Embrace Release Week Blitz. For today’s tour stop, please enjoy our review of this bewitchingly dark novel, an excerpt, and enter for your chance to win a copy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Book Banner 3

I received this book for free from the mentioned source in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book nor the content of my review.



Review, Excerpt & #Giveaway: Dark Embrace by Angie SandroDark Embrace by Angie Sandro
Published by: Forever Yours on 7/14/2015
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, PNR, Southern Gothic, Southern PNR
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Blog Tour, NetGalley

View on: Goodreads
Grab it: Buy on Amazon

Review Score:
About the Book:

Reader favorite Angie Sandro returns to the South with a bewitching paranormal New Adult romance perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout's Wicked and Cora Carmack's Inspire . . .

Rescued from the brink of death by her cousin Mala, Dena Acker returns to the land of the living with a terrifying gift. Still connected to the darkness that almost claimed her, she can tell when someone's about to die--but there's nothing she can do to save them. Desperate to rid herself of this cursed ability, Dena has only one chance at peace . . . and two very different men willing to rescue her.

For centuries, Ashmael has seen more souls than he can count but he's never been drawn to anyone the way he is to fragile, beautiful Dena. She fills the dark void of his days with light, and he would sacrifice anything - even his immortality - to cross over to her world and ease her suffering. But he can't afford to be discovered by police detective Michael Anders, who is investigating the deaths that surround Dena. While Michael fights his growing attraction to her, the evidence still points to Dena as the killer. Both men have the ability to save Dena from her horrible fate, but which one can she trust with her darkest secrets?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Review Banner

 

Edible Quote: Anders and Dena

“Usually it doesn’t take this much work for me to charm a woman.”

My voice comes out as breathless whisper. “Is that what you’re trying to do?”

“If you have to ask, then I need to work harder.”

His finger trails down my neck, and I swear I almost do an old-fashioned swoon right into his oh-so-very muscular arms. (31% kindle eARC)

 

 

 

Dark Embrace is a swoon worthy mystery with a bewitchingly Southern Gothic feel. It’s an edge-of-your-seat roller coaster ride of emotions, murder, and mayhem readers won’t see coming until long after they’ve been sucked into the novel. Being that this is my fist encounter with the author, I didn’t know what to expect from her writing. The blurb was enough to capture my attention and I hadn’t read a decent Gothic novel in a long time. Needless to say, after I read the first chapter, I knew I would read more of her work – if not all of her previous novels. Sandro ensnared me right from the start and I’m still enraptured by her words, I cannot get enough. The grit and edge, sarcasm and snark, and edible scenes. I want it all.

 
Dark Embrace centers around a young woman named Dena who was brought back to life by her cousin, Mala. Since her return, Dena’s been able to feel the pull of death and see his “presence” when others cannot. However, it seems every time she see’s the boy, she’s attacked and to make matters worse, blamed for her attackers murders. Now, Anders, a detective, is on her case. And the attraction they both feel cannot be ignored.

 
This book is hot…

 
Yes, it’s hot and you can feel the steam coming from the pages. The dynamic between the characters was one of my favorite parts of the story. I loved every moment she was around “death, the almost primal need they had for each other, and their uncontrollable desire. But … yes there is a but … Anders, yum. I couldn’t help but want to see him win Dena too. The mystery surrounding Dena was another one of my favorite parts. Not to give too much away, but I was guessing throughout the entire novel. Heck I changed my mind about the culprit so many times! Gosh, it was exciting and so unpredictable!

 
Overall, if you like snark, carnal appetites, and good mysteries in your novels, then I highly recommend reading Dark Embrace and adding Angie Sandro to your list of authors to watch! However, I must suggest that parents read this one before their teenagers due to the type of content in the novel and strong violence. But for everyone else, it’s a MUST READ!

 

 

My Rating

rate 4

Diayll Signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Excerpt copy
 

 

The touch on my outstretched hand is so light that it takes me a moment to notice. By then the cold, gel-like substance coats my fingers. When I try to pull back, the sticky goop sucks in my hand, which tingles as it cuts off my circulation. It reminds me of quicksand—of how my father’s body looked when they pulled his mummified remains free. His wide-open mouth filled with sand when he gasped his last breath. I never should’ve stayed when they retrieved him from his sandy tomb. The image is seared into my memory.

Now I’m being sucked to my death too.

My scream bursts out and echoes against the stone walls, taunting me. I jerk my arm, but like quicksand, the more I struggle, the more I’m drawn in. My chest presses against the membranous barrier. Instinctively, I hold my breath as I fall forward.

My thoughts grow fuzzy from lack of oxygen. The need for air grows more desperate. If I don’t breathe, I’ll die. If I breathe, I’ll die faster.

I gasp… then choke, but I don’t die.

I can breathe. How? Why?

Who cares? I fall to my knees, drinking in air. My eyes are open, but I can’t see anything. As in a dream, my emotions are magnified. I’m trapped and devoid of all hope of escape. Loneliness overwhelms me. I wrap my arms around my legs, needing the connection of touch, since my other senses are deprived. I don’t know how long I sit here rocking before I hear a sob.

The broken sound cuts through my apathy. No longer alone in this hell, I crawl forward, listening for another sound. Silence falls around me like a heavy cloak, and I begin to doubt that I heard anything except my own cries. My hands continue to search in the darkness, movements becoming more and more frantic. When I touch the warmth of a body, I cry out in relief so powerful that I tremble in reaction.

I press closer. I can’t believe what my senses scream out to me, but I inhale his deep, earthy scent. I run my hands up his arms, feeling his taut muscles beneath my fingers. His skin has the soft, fine smoothness of a newborn. My hands travel upward over broad shoulders to tangle in silky hair. I trace the hard angles of his cheekbones down to the indentation on his chin, and then, up to his lips. I remember this face as it hovered above mine and how his tongue felt on my body.

I found you,” I whisper, leaning forward. My mouth finds his to initiate a kiss so light it’s more of a mingling of breaths.

His hands tremble as his fingers explore my skin with butterfly wing-like caresses, and I shiver. He moves hesitantly. Our chests press together. His heartbeat quickens, and my own beats in an adjoining rhythm, perfectly synchronized with his.

His head dips until it’s pressed into the hollow between my shoulder and neck. He inhales, breathing in my scent. His tongue swirls over my collarbone. I press against him and cup the back of his head, my fingers twining through his hair. My other hand wraps around his waist, clenching tightly as his teeth rasp against my skin.

A distant, barely coherent part of my mind wonders now what? Only his lips answer my question, traversing my neck in soft nibbles with intermingled flicks from his tongue, dissolving all rational thought from my brain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dark Embrace Giveaway Banner 1

 

 

1 Winner Will Receive an eBook Copy of Dark Embrace!

Open to US and Canada Residents Only

Good Luck!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Angie Sandro

Angie Sandro was born at Whiteman Air Force Base in Missouri. Within six weeks, she began the first of eleven relocations throughout the United States, Spain, and Guam before the age of eighteen.

Friends were left behind. The only constants in her life were her family and the books she shipped wherever she went. Traveling the world inspired her imagination and allowed her to create her own imaginary friends. Visits to her father’s family in Louisiana inspired this story.

Angie now lives in Northern California with her husband, two children, and an overweight Labrador.