Audiobooks, Book Reviews, Reviews by Diayll, Top Feature

Audiobook Review: Rebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2) by Morgan Rhodes (5 Controllers)

Audiobook Review: Rebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2) by Morgan Rhodes (5 Controllers)Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #2
Published by: Razorbill on 12/3/2013
Genres: Epic Fantasy, Magic, YA
Pages: 416
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audiobook Purchase

Grab it: Buy on Amazon

Review Score:
About the Book:

Love, power, and magic collide with war in the second book of the Falling Kingdoms series

Auranos has fallen and the three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now united as one country called Mytica. But still, magic beckons, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the world...

When the evil King Gaius announces that a road is to be built into the Forbidden Mountains, formally linking all of Mytica together, he sets off a chain of events that will forever change the face of this land, forcing Cleo the dethroned princess, Magnus the reluctant heir, Lucia the haunted sorceress, and Jonas the desperate rebel to take steps they never could have imagined.




The Review Banner



This Review Contains Slight Spoilers…


FML…I tried, really I did, to hold off on reading Rebel Spring until Gathering Darkness was available. Never has a series left me in such distress, with major anxiety, and a severe book hangover. Like Shatter Me and Throne of Glass, the Falling Kingdoms Series is utterly addictive. Morgan Rhodes writing is lyrically seductive. I could bathe in her words, fall asleep in her world. *sigh* Now that I have to wait for Gathering Darkness my body is going through withdrawal. Someone should have warned me about this series! Since no one did, I’m warning you dear reader…only proceed if you can handle an extraordinary epic fantasy. Because if you’re anything like me waiting for the next book in the series will be agonizing. The horror…


For fans of Game of Thrones who like political scandals, lots of betrayal, pandemonium, death, and different forms of love (even in places you least expect it), the Falling Kingdoms series is for you. Picking up where Falling Kingdoms left off Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia are in chaos and dealing with the aftermath of King Gaius, the Blood King’s, takeover. Gaius manipulated his way to the throne and now has control over all the kingdoms and has even combined them into one, Mytica. But not all is peaches and roses for the king, there are forces greater than he could even imagine waiting to take him down.


Cleo, heir to the Auranos throne and last surviving member of the Bellos family, is at the mercy of King Gaius and forced to marry his son, a coldhearted prince Mangus. To them, this is a match made in hell. Both carry torches for someone else and cannot stand to be around each other for more than a solid minute. I loved watching their story develop. As a reader I knew if they could just move past their difference they would be an unstoppable force. So many times I wanted to go through my headphones and shake some sense into them. Even though I knew how I wanted their story to unfold, Rhodes spun it into a totally different direction and made me crave something else! I love an author who can make me root for one thing and then turn around and make me root for the total opposite! Never have I been so confused…


There are several other characters of note in this series: Jonas, Lucia, The Watches, Nic, Aron, and a few other minor characters. Lucia, the *spoiler* adopted sister of prince Magnus, remains comatose after using the fire magic at the end of Falling Kingdoms that essentially gave her father the victory of Auranos. After she wakes, I enjoyed watching her interact with Cleo. Both girls have sharp tongues and aren’t afraid to match insult for insult while keeping themselves as poise and princess like as possible. Cleo is by far my favorite character. Her bold cleverness never ceases to amaze me. Just check out how she answers the infamous King of Blood…


King Gaius – “I’m watching you princess.”

Cleo – “As I am watching you.”


LOL who says that to someone who just murdered your family and forced you into marriage? Cleo rocks so hard. She’s fierce and doesn’t hide who she is or what she believes. Unlike Lucia who seems more fragile and easily influenced Cleo knows when to speak, when to be illusive, and when to assert her authority. Love her to pieces I tell ya…little bitty bits and pieces!


Overall, I could rant and rave over Rebel Spring all day and still not convey how awesome the novel is and worthy of a spot on every book nerds bookshelf. If you haven’t, you must read Falling Kingdoms first (it’s da bomb folks) and then immediately pick up this one. I highly recommend the series to anyone looking for a vast world with a legion of characters and stellar mythology that will leave you gasping, aching, out of breath, sometimes without the ability to speak, and so in love with a story your heart may break a thousand times over.



My Rating

rate 5

Royalty Award for Epicness!

crown rating

Diayll Signature