Blog Tours, Book Reviews, NetGalley Reviews, Past Giveaways, Reviews by Diayll

Review and Giveaway: Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1) by Jaclyn Dolamore

Review and Giveaway: Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)  by Jaclyn Dolamore

This Blog Tour is Brought to You By: Itching For Books

You Can Find The Entire Tour Schedule HERE


 

 
 

 

Welcome to Mother/Gamer/Writer for the Dark Metropolis Blog Tour. For today’s tour stop, we hope you enjoy our review of this dark and exciting  1930s-esque tale of magic, and don’t forget to enter for your chance to win a Hardcover Copy! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Book Banner 3


 

I received this book for free from the mentioned source in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book nor the content of my review.



Review and Giveaway: Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)  by Jaclyn DolamoreDark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore
Published by: Disney-Hyperion on 6/17/2014
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Historical Fantasy, Young Adult, Zombies
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
Source: ARC From Publisher, NetGalley

View on: Goodreads
Grab it: Buy on Amazon

Review Score:
About the Book:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Review Banner

 

 
When I first began reading Dark Metropolis my initial reaction went something along the lines of, “what in tarnation am I reading and why do I love it”?!! The beginning of the novel has a certain dark and ominous feel that left me a little memorized and under its spell. You knew something bad was going to happen, you gritted your teeth and expected it with the turn of each page. For me, the novel kept this “doom and gloom” slow build up. It would drop a little piece here and a little piece there; each page grinding a new sense of paranoia for our main character Thea, who was every bit as paranoid as I was. I loved it. Couldn’t get enough of it. It made the story, unique. Exciting. And most of all interesting.

 

 

Perhaps it’s because most of the time I had no clue what was going on in the beginning that I read Dark Metropolis in one sitting. And perhaps it’s because I was drawn into the mystery of it all. In any case, whether it was explained well or not, I enjoyed watching this “zombie/re-animation-ish” story unfold in this alternate 1930’s universe. Our main character Thea is a sixteen year-old girl working in a club where she gets to entertain glamorous and wealthy patrons. On the outside she seems to have it all together, witty, charming, a great hostess to the guests. But underneath it all Thea harbors secrets: a mother who’s losing her mind, a father who’s missing (presumed dead), and a rather peculiar ability. When her mother is taken to be “cured” and her best friend goes missing, Thea decides to uncover what is really going on in the world around her.

 

I can’t say too much about the plot without dishing out spoilers, but I can say that this was a delightful read. The 1920-1930 alternate world Dolamore created was fabulous to be in. The characters, the language, the scenery, were all painted well. The fact that magic is so controversial was also intriguing. You have the “old” concepts and spells versus what’s considered modern. My only concerns center around some of the concepts in this world not being explained well. We are given a full glimpse of why things are the way they are and how magic relates to some people. However despite this, I found myself just suspending disbelief and reading into the wee hours of the night. I also enjoyed that it’s told from multiple perspectives. Freddy to me was the most enjoyable, and when it was revealed what Gerick wanted him to do, it made you pause and wonder…how are they going to do “that”? And this part alone is enough to keep anyone reading.

 

 

Overall, Dark Metropolis is a great historical, fantasy, mystery with lots of dark elements and great characters. Though some of it might be predictable, it’s still a great world and one I recommend jumping into head first.

 

 

My Rating


rate 4

Diayll Signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Giveaway New Banner

1 Winner will Win A Copy of Dark Metropolis (US)


Good Luck!!!!


 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Jaclyn Dolamore

Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.