Book Reviews, Reviews by Diayll

Review: Sleep No More (Sleep No More #1) by Aprilynne Pike

I received this book for free from the mentioned source in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book nor the content of my review.



Review: Sleep No More (Sleep No More #1) by Aprilynne PikeSleep No More by Aprilynne Pike
Series: Sleep No More #1
Published by: HarperTeen on 4/29/2014
Genres: Greek & Roman, Mythology, Paranormal, YA, Young Adult
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: ARC From Publisher

View on: Goodreads
Grab it: Buy on Amazon

Review Score:
About the Book:

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Review Banner

 

 

I finished Sleep No More about a month ago and honestly it took me that long to write this review. On the one hand, I adored the mystery aspect of the story. Learning about Oracles, their lore and history, and how they interact with the world was quite entertaining and is the main reason I continued to plow through this novel. But on the opposite end of this spectrum I felt nothing for our main character Charlotte other than pity.  To begin with Sleep No More is compared to Inception – I didn’t relate this novel to Inception, at all. Unless you are talking about the Oracles going into this dreamlike state and altering things they’ve seen…but that’s still making this comparison a stretch (a wide stretch) at best.

 

When Charlotte was younger she used her Oracle powers to save the life of someone she loved only to lose another person in their place. Because of this, she lives a very sheltered life. Hiding her abilities and forcing away the vision as her aunt taught her to do. Her only friend is a super-hot guy who, seems to only care for her because she seems fragile – oh and she takes his mind off his dead girlfriend (WTH???).  However, I tried to work with it but for the most part I didn’t enjoy the romance aspects of this book. I wasn’t swooning or falling in love with old whatever-his-name-is-I-don’t-care-enough-to-remember.

 

Let’s move on to what I did like. The murder mystery, which is the catalyst for Charlotte doing something and actually learning more about her abilities than what her aunt allowed her to know, was pretty decent. I enjoyed watching Charlotte manipulate ‘the future” and learn to control her powers. I also liked the “whodunit” aspect of it. My only grip with this bit of Sleep No More is the creepy man Charlotte meets.  Our MC seemed to trust him a tad too bit for someone she just met. Wondering off from civilization with this man while a serial killer on the loose didn’t seem like good judgment on her part. I can understand her desperation to learn more about others like herself, however because of the age difference and how he approached her it just seemed…weird (for a lack of a better word than eww).

 

Overall, I feel somewhat indifferent about Sleep No More. This book was on my radar for a while and I was thrilled when I got a copy for review. But my expectations seemed to be too high. There were parts I enjoyed, parts I skimmed, and parts I just rolled my eyes at. In any case, if you are looking for a book with mystery, killers, mythology, and paranormal aspects, I encourage you to give it a try.

 

 

My Rating


rate - 3

Diayll Signature