Book Reviews, Reviews by Diayll

ARC Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

I received this book for free from the mentioned source in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book nor the content of my review.



ARC Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie JordanUninvited by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Published by: HarperTeen on 01/28/2014
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, YA
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
View on: Goodreads
Grab it: Buy on Amazon

Review Score:
About the Book:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

 

 

The Review Banner

 

 

 

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan first drew my attention with its well-written blurb and comparison to Minority Report. Being the avid science fiction fanatic that I am it tickled every nerdy bone in my body. My expectations were soaring and my imagination concocted a very kick a$$ story in my head. However, when I began to devour Uninvited, my hopes started to deflate. Just a little at first. Then just a little more. Finally, I was so consumed by the “OMG what’s going to happen next” I started to overlook the things that didn’t appeal to me as a reader and kept going. The premise was fascinating, the characters though not so much. Even though I was dying to LOVE Uninvited…I was sadly only able to just like the novel. And it’s sad, really sad; a tragedy even.

 

Our story follows the ordinary and too perfect life of Davy Hamilton: a musical prodigy with big dreams, the stellar best friend, amazing boyfriend and somewhat normal home life. Until one day when her life is not so ordinary because she’s been diagnosed as an HTS carrier.  She has The Kill Gene (enter ominous music here). Pretty quickly, everything she held dear is ripped from her grasp and she’s tossed into the world of “killers”. Along the way, she begins to lose the normalcy of her too perfect life and begins to discover who her true friends are and how her family is anything but perfect.

 

At first, I felt awkward reading about Davy. I keep saying “too perfect” because that’s how her life seemed, entirely too perfect. Her brother was the screw up in the eyes of their family. But to me he seemed the most level-headed and normal of the bunch. I was thrilled when Davy’s world began to crumble because I wanted to see her reaction. I wanted to see how she would overcome this terrible situation. However, Davy (in my humble opinion) was so dramatic and probably the most annoying narrator I’ve read in a LONG time. She was very judgmental about everything and then hated when people in turn judged her. Although she was trying to work through her own prejudice, I don’t think she was very sympathetic to other peoples situations. I know she had to keep her guard up at all times but I felt like she was too naïve in some instances and too quick to react in others (she did all of this in a whiny manner too mind you). She hated being scrutinized Who wouldn’t? But she seemed overly clueless about the world and everyone in it.

 

I don’t think anyone in the world believes everything they are told. Yet Davy seemed to. It’s almost like she couldn’t think of form an opinion for herself without needing someone to step in and justify it for her. I wanted her strong. Opinionated even. However, what I got was a mostly step-back-and-let- things-happen-to-me-because-I don’t-know-what-else-to-do main character. And it infuriated me. I wanted to scream, take action! Do something! But no, she needed the handsome I-would-die-without-him love interest to save her at every turn. I’m not sure why, but ALL the females in this novel seemed to need masculine protection. I mean really…the only way a girl can survive in this world is by (excuse the language) whoring herself out? No thanks.

 

Overall, I started to give Uninvited 4 Controllers. But then, like always, when I write my reviews and the characters talk to me (yes, characters often speak to me LOL), I find myself changing the rating. Not because it’s a terrible book either. There were some themes in this novel that were not well executed and there seemed to be a great divide between the premise and world building, or the lack there of. Some of it I found to be unbelievable. Out of a whole nation of carriers only 50 people are chosen for a special program and somehow Davy manages to get the handsome not-so-special guy into the same program????? Yeah right. This is one of those novels I wish lived up to my expectations. Between the cover and the amazing blurb, I was let down. A lot. The second half of the story did improve but it wasn’t enough for me to LOVE it overall.

 

 

My Rating


rate - 3

 

Diayll Signature

 

 

 

You Might Like Better: